The Hanukkah Surprise- News and Reviews

Ok, so there isn’t really any news about “The Hanukkah Surprise,” as it’s been out since last December and nobody’s bought it in ages.  (Turns out Hanukkah stories aren’t tremendously popular at other times of the year, believe it or not.)  But I figured while I was sending people over to Dreamspinner Press, and, hopefully, attracting some readers from there, I might as well put in a good word for my other story there, neglected though it may be due to seasonal disjunction.

Also, I didn’t have anywhere to post reviews or talk about it in my meandering way when it came out, so I will attend to the former in the this post, and to the latter in another, more conceptual post shortly.

“The Hanukkah Surprise” started my formal relationship with male/male romance.  (Which I think is a little silly as a genre name, but it does get the point across clearly).  My informal relationship is about a billion times more interesting, sexier, longer, stranger… but I’m not gonna talk about that right now.  Formally, I heard about the genre because Rachel heard about this call for submissions Dreamspinner Press had for holiday stories, and I thought, sure, I could do one of those.

It worked out, and my little gay Hanukkah story got to be part of the 2010 Advent Calendar at Dreamspinner Press.  The Advent Calendar is this annual thing they do where you can buy a big gigantic package of stories and then receive one per day for the entire month of December.  (This is a superb idea, but not for the faint of heart.  For example, if you and your girlfriend decide to read each of these stories aloud to each other while relaxing or doing household chores, you may not actually be finished by, say, July.  Just sayin’.)

But don’t worry!  You can also buy “The Hanukkah Surprise” separately.  And in case you’re wondering what it’s about, other than Hanukkah and a surprise, here’s the official blurb and buy link:

http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?cPath=355&products_id=2086

Also, some readers wrote reviews, which were mostly quite lovely and kind:

http://fallenangelreviews.com/2011/May/teresa-thehanukkahsurprise.htm

http://briefencountersreviews.com/2010/12/07/the-hanukkah-surprise-by-rebecca-lynn-fullan/

And this one is my favorite:

http://www.joyfullyreviewed.com/new-reviews/the-hanukkah-surprise-by-rebecca-lynne-fullan

So there’s a small bunch of links to keep you entertained for a bit, if what you were looking for in entertainment was a small bunch of links.  I have more to say about this story, but I’ll do that in another post.  For now, I’ll just say that it would be quite a pleasure to actually sell a copy of this story in the summertime, if anyone who hasn’t read it feels so inclined.  And if you want to wait til Hanukkah, don’t worry.  I’m sure I’ll talk about it then, too. 😉

Join the Story