(P)reviews of Resilience + Guest Blogging Series Inaugural Announcement!

Hi all!

It has come to my attention that Resilience has been featured in two previews– and they are exciting and laudatory!   Here’s the one: http://reviewsbyamoslassen.com/?p=14620 and here’s the other: http://asknicola.blogspot.com/2012/01/resilience.html.  Thank you, Amos Lassen and Nicola Griffith, for the warm welcome to this book!

Also, while writing that last post about my youth, something kept going through my mind: I really wanted to do something about the fact that there are such bounded and limited narratives of understanding sexuality that really have cultural currency.  It seems that everyone expects sexual attraction, interest, and experience to unfold in one of a very few ways, and I think there are tons of pieces of sexuality that get left out of that– and that gives us less of a sense of the richness and mystery of our sexualities and also leads to isolation, confusion, or shame about things that don’t necessarily fit into those narratives.  I think that’s part of the reason that I wrote about the particular things I did, which might not be included in a standard sexual awakening/coming out story, especially since they didn’t really involve anyone else’s physical involvement or much attraction to other women!  But they are significant to my own understanding of my own sexuality.

So, while thinking about all this, I was also thinking about how I wanted to have some guest blogging series on here, on many topics that I think could use a mosaic of stories which will honor all kinds of narratives and experiences, sexuality being one.

I mentioned this to a friend while we discussed my post, and she, thrillingly, immediately wrote a tale of her own sexual experience, including ways it did not fit in with the narrative she had been led to expect.  I’m very excited about this and will post it soon!

I also want to open the discussion up to the rest of you:  if you are intrigued and pleased by this idea, send me a story about your sexuality, its origins, its boundaries, its secrets or surprises… whatever you want.  Whatever you haven’t found a place to tell.  No length requirements or limits!  I may edit them for grammar and whatnot, and I’ll let you know if there’s other editing I’d prefer to do.  Please don’t send anything that expresses contempt for other people, and other than that I’ll let you know if your piece is not something I feel comfortable with for whatever reason.  Also, if you haven’t had sex, I am still deeply interested in stories of your sexuality– I don’t want people to feel that they must have had some particular experience to qualify.

If you would like, I can write up some prompts and questions to get you thinking, but feel free to just write!

I look forward to reading your stories!  And don’t forget to go and get Resilience while the sale is on!  https://www.lulu.com/commerce/index.php?fBuyContent=12440418

P.S. I realized that if you wanted to do this but don’t know me personally, you wouldn’t know where to send your post!  If that’s your situation, just leave me a comment and I will send you contact info.

Join the Story

