Standing Up at World Pulse

I got an email the other day from World Pulse, which is this news site created for and by women and allies of women all over the world. I don’t know all that much about the site yet; I recently signed up to receive emails from it after reading about it in Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn. The email was about a writing contest they were having, for very short autobiographical writing on the topic Standing Up. Part of the contest involves self-publishing the work for consideration on their site, which I have now done, so I wanted to share what I wrote with all of you.

Here’s the link to what I wrote: http://www.worldpulse.com/node/39234. Check it out and let me know what you think, there or here. I am endlessly fascinated by the interactions with other people that happen on the subway, and this experience I had seemed well-suited to the topic.

If you’d like to write a 400-word autobiographical piece on Standing Up, too, check out the call for submissions here: www.worldpulse.com/pulsewire/programs/mystory.

I’d also love to hear about other people’s experiences on the subway or bus, or any kind of public transportation where all kinds of people are thrown together and sharing a small space. I really think it offers a unique community of strangers… which sounds like I love the subway all the time; I don’t, and I get annoyed by it like anybody else. But still… where else do you find people of all classes (well, maybe not often the very very rich), races, genders, levels of sanity, moods, desires, etc., suddenly thrown together for however many minutes in a little box? Anyway, if you have a story to tell about that, leave it in the comments. I’m sure there are a lot of interesting ones out there.

Join the Story

